Review: Gilmore Girls: A Year in the Life…What?!?

Author’s Note: Warning, there may be a few spoilers. Read at your own risk.
“Spoilers” – River Song, Doctor Who (If you’ve watched the show and like Doctor Who, you know why I’m quoting this).


Gilmore Girls: A Year in the Life aired back in November. I sat down one night and watched all four episodes (Yes, this is what happens when I have trouble sleeping). Each episode is roughly an hour and a half to two hours long. When you are sitting down and watching the show, it doesn’t feel that long. Once the first episode was over I looked at the screen and was confused. It didn’t even feel like it was the length of the original show, but the little line at the bottom said it had been playing for about an hour and a half.

I’ll be honest though, after going back and watching all of the original Gilmore Girl episodes, it took me a minute to be able to really sink into the new series. The actors were older, some of their voices had changed a bit. However, once I got passed these small details, I kept wanting more. I kept wondering who would be returning to the show and how was this all going to play out.

Lorelai remains Lorelai throughout the series. She is witty, getting into fights with her mother, and drinking coffee at all hours of the day. As for Rory, there is more of a twist I wasn’t expecting. She struggles with her journalism career. Don’t worry, after some struggling, she does turn her career around, just not in the way I expected. It is perfect though. Had Rory went off to become this big time reporter, her life would have been perfect. A little too perfect for anyone to truly relate to.

Rory is also reunited with her past three loves throughout the series. I am glad they did this. She jokes with Dean about cornstarch. He tells her to pay for it this time. Jess also reappears throughout the series. He’s the one that helps guide Rory on her way to turning her career around. I love these little twists where Jess is the one helping Rory. You can see his growth in the original series, but the fact he continues on this path for the rest of his life, really shows the kind of impact Rory had on him when they were younger. In my eyes, they are the new Luke and Lorelai. Last but not least, Logan is placed throughout the entire series. Honestly, I feel like their relationship in the series reverts. In the original series anyone could draw similarities between Logan and Rory’s father, Christopher (who also pops in for a little scene of his own), but by the end, the two are more alike than I expected.

A new twist to this series is Emily Gilmore. I didn’t expect them to follow her story as much, but they did. Emily is still Emily through most of it, but I feel like she has mellowed out some by the end. She truly finds what makes her happy. It’s as if by the end, she is truly awake to what she wants. She starts to become an overall nicer person, and not because she feels obligated, but because this is what she wants.

Now, time to talk about this ending. No. No. No. It can’t be over with. Yes, there is a cliffhanger. Okay, maybe not a big cliffhanger. Anyone who has seen the series knows how it will probably turn out, but how will it get there? That’s what I need to know. This is what has been driving me insane since I’ve seen it. I need to know how things meet their ending.

Overall, I could watch this over and over again. I love the story line of both Gilmore Girls and Gilmore Girls: A Year in the Life. I wouldn’t change a single thing about it, except that this better not be the end. Part of this may be because I’ve watched this show since I was younger. It was hard enough to believe the first series had ended, and the fact this one leaves me wanting more, hasn’t helped my love of the Gilmore family.

For anyone who has seen Gilmore Girls: A Year in the Life, what are your thoughts?

Leave a comment