That Time of Year

Author’s Note: This was originally written right before my college graduation on May 7th, 2016.


Caps and gowns have been received, the diplomas are ready, and the students are anxious and nervous. It’s that time of year. On May 7th I’ll be walking across the stage in order to receive my diploma. I’ll have obtain a Bachelor’s Degree in English and a minor in Sociology. These past four years have had their ups and downs, as I’m sure most college students have a similar experience with that. Some, like myself, may sometimes wonder what would happen if they had chosen a different college to attend. I have wondered this many times, but have come to the realization that I would have missed out on so many things had I chosen a different college.

Once I had my interview and acceptance letter from Alice Lloyd College, I never looked at another college. I had made my decision almost immediately. I’m not sure why I did this, but something told me this was the place for me. After these four years, I agree that this was the college for me. I have made friends, had wonderful experiences, and learned things I may not have learned anywhere else.

For the two friends that have been with me these four years, I couldn’t have made better friends. Amelia and Hillary have always been there for me. Whether stress was eating me or guy problems had me down, they were there to hold me up. They still stand beside me as I get ready to start a new chapter. Had it not been for this college, I wouldn’t have had the chance to meet the two.

Amelia got me to join my first club. She helped me to become a somewhat social person. Do I consider myself social? Not really, but I can be when the situation calls for it. Amelia is my nerdy, adventurous, creative friend.

Hillary and I have been called “twins” by one of our professors. While we may not always understand why this is, perhaps he is right. We are similar in many ways and can bond over everything from TV shows to fashion choices. Even though she randomly plays cat/dog videos in the middle of the night that cause me to give her my “evil” look, I’m not sure what I would have done without her as a friend.

As for experiences, I have to say this includes clubs and work study. While I already knew how to clean, I had never been a janitor or had an actual job until I came here. I worked my way to being a student supervisor. While this position isn’t always sunshine and rainbows, it has opened my eyes to what this kind of responsibility entails. Without this experience, I probably wouldn’t feel as confident as I do. Without the clubs I probably wouldn’t be as comfortable speaking in front of people. Public speaking isn’t something I consider myself to be all that great at, but being part of clubs have helped me to improve.

As for what I’ve learned, what would college be without professors? It is thanks to all of my English teachers and one Sociology professor that I have been able to not only obtain the knowledge in order to pass my classes, but also to improve my skills. It is because of these people that I have become better skilled for what I wish to do with my life. I owe them a huge thanks for helping me get through these four years.

Had I gone anywhere else for school, these people wouldn’t have been a part of my life. These experiences wouldn’t have happened the same way anywhere else. There are times I may complain about the school I attend, but without this school, I wouldn’t have grown to be the woman I am today.

Leave a Reply

