Concert Review: Sevendust, Breaking Benjamin, & Shinedown

Author’s Note: Any pictures used were taken by either my friends that attended the concert with me or by me. I used Photobucket to host the pictures and Picmonkey to create the collages.


 Bands Present: Sevendust, Breaking Benjamin, & Shinedown

Date of Concert: November 21, 2015

Place of Concert: Big Sandy Superstore Arena in Huntington, WV

Rating: 4.8 out of 5 stars.

First I would like to say that this is the first concert I have ever been to. I believe it was a good choice for my first concert. Over all, I’m glad I was able to attend this event. There is also hope that I will be able to see these bands perform in the future.

Sevendust:


While I do not enjoy listening to their music back to back on a CD or through Spotify, I did enjoy hearing them live. Some of the lyrics, however, where harder to hear over the roar of the instruments, but I loved how they engaged the crowd. I know that the opening band’s job is to get the crowd pumped for what is about to happen. Sevendust did just that. I’m not sure there could have been a better band to open with. Their only downfall was not being able to hear the lyrics as well as I would have liked. However, I think the lead singer, Lajon Witherspoon, knew he could make up for that with his awesome hair and nice ass. I’m not even a butt person, and I could appreciate that bottom.

Breaking Benjamin:


Awesome, that is one of the words I would use to describe their performance. Not only did I enjoy listening to their music, I enjoyed what they brought with them. They showed some geeky love for Star Wars. Honestly, that alone would have made them awesome, but no, they took it a step farther. Towards the end of their performance they asked a few members of the audience to come up; then they got all the kids they could possibly get to join them on stage. That’s the part where I wish I had my nephew with me. He would have loved that! I know there were many kids on stage that will probably remember that moment for the rest of their lives, but what made this better was how the lead singer, Benjamin Burnley, went to a little kid who seemed a bit shy. This little boy was on stage and just stood there until this man came over to him. He put his arm around him and helped him to feel a bit more comfortable. This same little boy ended up with a stormtrooper mask. It was honestly one of the most precious things I have seen. Maybe I’m a sucker when it comes to kids, but I still found it amazingly cute.

Shinedown:


What a show! The first time they had sparks on stage, it scared the crap out of me. With the combination of the loud noise and the sparks falling down, I didn’t know what to think at first. As the concert went on, you got to know when to expect these noises. The only noise I didn’t expect was the fire alarm that went off because of all the smoke on stage. Honestly, I believe it to be the best show with fire I’ve ever seen. The lead singer, Brent Smith, even went out into the crowd at one point. Security was very well protective of him and everything seemed to go smoothly. They sang a favorite song of my friend, and that made her night. It was a beautiful, wonderful, outstanding performance. I may be a little bias since this is my first concert, but I honestly enjoyed it.

Overall, this was an amazing experience for me. I only wish I had had a camera that wasn’t attached to a phone with me that night. I didn’t know how it would be, so I was eerie about asking to barrow someone’s. But the atmosphere of the place was amazing. I felt comfortable where we were. Just the entire place was nice. I really did enjoy the concert. I hope to go to more and do more reviews.

Leave a Reply

