A Strong Woman: For a Friend

I know everyone has a friend or family member that they find to be strong. Maybe it’s because they are raising a child on their own, made it through a rough patch in their life, standing their ground, or because of the way they act in the face of fear. This is for someone I have lost touch with, but I try to keep up with what is going on with her. Her name will not be mention because she does not know I am writing this.

Why is this woman strong?

This woman is battling Hodgkin’s Lymphoma. She is 20 years old and standing on her own two feet. In every picture she is smiling, even though I know there are times it is difficult for her. She does have support of family and friends, and that helps her. Family and friends, however, can only go so far. She herself has to want to make it through, and she does. She stands tall in her fight. On her Instagram she even puts “Future Hodgkin’s Lymphoma Survivor.” She knows she will make it through this fight on the winning side.

Why is she so important to me?

This woman has helped me through difficult times in my life that not everyone knows about. She has made me laugh when I’ve been down. She’s pushed me to move on with a part of my life. She, along with others, helped support me when I first started writing. This woman isn’t only strong for herself, but for others as well. I remember times she’d talk to me about situations that involved other friends or family members. She was worried for them. This woman is one of the most caring and kindest people I have ever met. I still have and wear the bracelet she got me for graduation. I no longer have the box it came in, but I remember what was written inside, “like this bracelet, our friendship will always fit.” I know that no matter how long we may not talk, if I needed her, she’d be there. I only hope she knows I will always be there for her.

Inspirational

That word above describes this amazing woman. Not everyone could face this challenge head on like she has. I know there are days she doesn’t always feel up to the challenge, but she pushes through. In the end, she will be triumphant. Amazing woman, if you read this, you’ll know this is about you. I want you to know that I’mĀ cheering for you. You’ve got this.

Leave a Reply

